Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

drives with snow on em

Posted by: user510233 | Wed 3rd Apr 2013 19:11 | Last Reply

im relatively new to golf and was advised by on of my customers who plays alot of golf to up the degrees of my driver as it would aid me, i got a 13.5 degree ping g15 and have used it since xmas, im finding now my drives are going realy high and coming down with snow on them, is it time to get a 10 degree or drop down to a twevle? would this make much difference and make the ball go further rarther than higher? any help would be much appreciated thanks

re: drives with snow on em
user459944
Reply : Wed 3rd Apr 2013 21:00

adam, sure you not teeing it up too high, I found that when I first started using large driver that I was getting under the ball too much 150yrds up 90 yrds long, dropped the tee by a couple of MM and got it just right, just a thought?

user451727
Reply : Wed 3rd Apr 2013 22:34

Adam, I also had this, and occasionally still do. Try and look at your ball position relative in your stance. If you have it too far forward in your stance and the ball being teed up, the driver is well on its way through the upswing and this will cause your ball to sky. Hope this helps.

user504404
Reply : Thu 4th Apr 2013 11:15

Adam

I use a 10.5 but quite frankly I would get on fine with 12 or even more. The more loft you have will reduce the amount of side spin so hopefully will keep your drives straighter, so don't worry too much about the height.

Do you feel like you are hitting your drives sweet when they go too high? If not maybe try teeing a bit lower as it might be a case of your club impacting a bit too low?

I like to hit the ball on the upswing so I tee the ball quite high and have it alongside my left foot, ie well forward.