Tee Times | Search | Reviews

News:

Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Hi. Im new! (I also need to get better at golf)

Posted by: user512543 | Thu 14th Mar 2013 14:46 | Last Reply

Hi all,

I'm a 21 year old golfer on the Isle of Wight, currently playing off around 24. I've been playing very casually (and poorly) for about 5 years now and I've finally decided I want to improve and get more out of the game. Unfortunately I can't afford lessons and my time is very limited, so I've only,been able to get tips off YouTube and I'm lucky if I play once a week!

Does anyone want to put in their 2p on what positive steps I could take, or what has helped them cut their handicap in similar circumstances? Looking forward to meeting some new people on here!

Happy golfing!

Joel

re: Hi. Im new! (I also need to get better at golf)
user80078
Reply : Thu 14th Mar 2013 15:09

Welcome Joel. This is an excellent forum for advice and chit chat. If you are only 21 and knocking it round to 24, you have plenty of time to improve, but are already doing quite well. Not knowing your game I would suggest that you nail the short game (putting, chipping and pitching). These are the shots where you can score. Having said that , how's your long game? Enjoy Golfshake. There are plenty of golfers here better qualified to advise than me... Mike.

user127691
Reply : Thu 14th Mar 2013 15:53