Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

gap or lob wedge? or neither?

Posted by: user489926 | Wed 13th Mar 2013 20:35 | Last Reply

Hi all ! Iam looking for some advice off you pro,s! Iam thinking of adding a gap or lob wedge to my bag this season. I have been playing for about 4 yrs now and play with ben ross rip speed cavity back irons 4-pw. can anyone advise me on what loft, bounce and make might suit me? Any advice is gratefully welcomed!

re: gap or lob wedge? or neither?
user469358
Reply : Wed 13th Mar 2013 23:08

Hi Chris, if your most lofted club is a pitching wedge then yes you should get some more wedges. What I would say is do some googling and try to find the specifications for your iron set and find out the loft of your pitching wedge.

These days most manufacturers have strengthened the lofts to make it appear that their clubs hit the ball further. The end result of this is that a pitching wedge is less lofted than it used to be and that usually leaves a gap of around 8 - 10 degrees to the sand wedge which causes the need for another club in the middle ie the gap wedge.

However in your situation if you dont yet have an SW I would suggest getting 2 wedges, the 1st probably around 6 degrees more lofted than your PW and the 2nd a further 6 degrees, or maybe 3 wedges and slightly less gap.

As for what make and bounce its really down to personal preference, you cant go too far wrong with Cleveland or Titleist but my favourite (not everyones) are the Ping Tour wedges.

Last edit : Thu 14th Mar 2013 02:25
user338942
Reply : Thu 14th Mar 2013 11:55

On the subject of bounce, there is a great feature in this month's Today's Golfer in regards to what kind of player needs what bounce.

For my wedges, I have PW, 52 & 58 keeping a 6* gap between each.

user375014
Reply : Thu 14th Mar 2013 12:06