Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Ping g15s,or clevelandcg16,s?

Posted by: user499646 | Mon 21st Jan 2013 21:43 | Last Reply

I am in for a tax rebate on the weekend,and am looking to upgrade my irons from my current md superstrongs to maybe ping g15 or Cleveland cg16's.ive been playing for about 18 months and am off a23 handicap.i have quite a high swing speed,and hit the ball quite a long way,but need more accuracy with my iron play.also looking for a reasonably priced 3 wood.any recommendations?

re: Ping g15s,or clevelandcg16,s?
user477305
Reply : Mon 21st Jan 2013 21:49

I personally will be sticking with my MD irons for a few more years yet! Mine are forged and they are certainly not holding me back. As for the 3 wood you can get the old TM burner on onlinegolf for about �60 and it really is a great club, well worth the price

user499646
Reply : Mon 21st Jan 2013 21:58

Cheers,mds have served me well,but getting quite worn now,need regripping,and don't think they were correctly fitted for me,as a course pro just asked me how tall I was without measuring wrist to floor,watching swing etc...all he did was added1/2 Inch to the shafts according to my height!great clubs for the money though,without a doubt.

user24437
Reply : Mon 21st Jan 2013 23:05

Stick with the MD's, bang on some sticky grips (easy to do yourself for �40 for decent ones) and get them checked out for loft and lie. It may need tweaking. Then lash out on a second hand MD suoerstrong 3 wood (I've got a couple spare) and get a really good shaft (mine have Aldila DVS60R's), shouldn't cost more than �70 the lot for a cracking club. Or you could go and spend it on a big name club with a inferior 'big name' shaft for twice as much.

user43763
Reply : Tue 22nd Jan 2013 18:06