Tee Times | Search | Reviews

News:

Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Accessories and things you wouldnt leave for the course without?

Posted by: user43763 | Sun 6th Jan 2013 13:37 | Last Reply

about to sign up for membership and compete in competitions and was wondering...

What tool/piece of kit/gadget/accessory could you not play without?

looking to make sure ive got every base covered

thanks

re: Accessories and things you wouldnt leave for the course without?
user282395
Reply : Sun 6th Jan 2013 17:47

A rule book was the only addition I made to my bag shortly after I started playing comps. The 'OOB' thread below gives you a good idea why! Every now and then there's a strange situation occurs which can cause arguments and discord in your group, which is never a nice way to play. I was prompted by two incidents in that occurred in my group in my first couple of comps:

1. Medal. I played my tee shot, dicing with OOB which has a ditch just inside it (ie. the ditch can often save you from going OOB). Both others in my group said they had seen it land in bounds and bounce into the ditch, so didn't play a provisional (lesson learned there!). Walked down, ball had taken a nasty hop, cleared ditch and just OOB. Ran back to tee with another ball and club, promptly banged it in the same place. Obviously being a medal I had to continue, but now I had no ball and my bag was 250 yards down the fairway. Borrowed a ball from group behind as they were coming off the previous green, no-one said anything. Span the dit in the bar and promptly got DQd for borrowing equipment from another player! Live and learn.