Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

golf gps, is it worth investing?

Posted by: user309476 | Wed 2nd Jan 2013 15:31 | Last Reply

I've been toying with the idea of getting one for a fair few months now. I was going to get one for Christmas but decided to invest in some decent wedges and a fairway wood for now.

My dilemma is whether to save and get one, wait till my phone upgrade and get an app or just not bother?

Other than the obvious help by giving you exact yardages i would be using the facility on them to measure my shots as i have no definite knowledge on how far i hit my clubs. I know this relies on hitting a decent shot to really work but would it make as much of a difference to my game or am i just being drawn in to the gadget side?

I'm not a member of a club and don't play in comps, I play on average every other week and would like to hear if anyone has noticed a vast improvement just from the use of gps and its facilities.

thanks darren

re: golf gps, is it worth investing?
user40826
Reply : Wed 2nd Jan 2013 16:13

I love mine, it takes the guess work out of yardages. I know there will be people on here who don't like them and think they slow play down on the course.

For me its the times when you're away from the fairway, its difficult to judge those distances, especially when you play a forgiving driving course. There are no yardage markers on the other fairways

Looking at your handicap, I would invest the money in lessons, become more consistent with your ball striking and distance control before spending �200 on a GPS. Wait for your phone upgrade and spend �15 on a GPS application for your smart phone.

user43763
Reply : Wed 2nd Jan 2013 18:58