Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

ball dosn't travel in cold weather

Posted by: user16106 | Sun 21st Oct 2012 21:07 | Last Reply

Played a pretty good game today 84 gross after my nightmare 110 last week. One thing I did notice was that the ball was travelling a good club and a half short.( took about 5 holes to realise this ). not too much wind but fairways wet, drizzle in the air and damp greens. Does anyone else notice a drop in distance in the colder , wetter weather? Dave CAC handed Geordie.

Last edit : Sun 21st Oct 2012 22:52
re: ball dosn't travel in cold weather
user495284
Reply : Sun 21st Oct 2012 21:26

As a complete noob, it's not something I've noticed yet. However my friend who I played a round with last weekend commented that his practise drives were falling shorter than usual and he put it down to the damp cool air. So he took this into account during the round, selecting an extra club when required.

user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sun 21st Oct 2012 21:43

Yes, it happens every year.

You have to allow for this when selecting your club.

This is one of the things about playing golf in our weather!

Roll on summer.

Russ

user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sun 21st Oct 2012 22:25

What's summer Russ?

I actually change ball in winter and use a distance ball. I don't need as much spin because the greens are softer and take a ball better, plus it makes up the little bit of distance you lose. For information, I use a Titleist NXT in winter and a Srixon Z-STAR XV in the summer

user16106
Reply : Sun 21st Oct 2012 22:31

I use a Z star at the mo Chris. What advantages in cold weather do you get from the NXT? Dave CAC handed Geordie.

user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sun 21st Oct 2012 23:23