Tee Times | Search | Reviews

News:

Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Poor technique causing upper arm/shoulder pain. Advice please.

Posted by: user482978 | Sun 7th Oct 2012 09:10 | Last Reply

Hi everyone,

Im in my first year playing golf and have found myself with muscle pain in the upper arm/shoulder after a round. Im sure this is down to me sometimes grounding the club slightly into the ground when playing irons shots. Im sure the term is hitting fat, ive fixed my grip, have the correct ball placement etc.

Do you guys have any tips that will make me hit the ball better and stop grounding my club. Its also been suggested im gripping too tight with my right arm and when i strike the ground this causes slight pain in the arm.

Any help/advice would be appreciated as im eager to get back out there :-)

re: Poor technique causing upper arm/shoulder pain. Advice please.
user52922
Reply : Sun 7th Oct 2012 11:37

Steven, Unfortunately for you, it is imperative that an iron shot takes a divot. Pain is something we all have to live with in some form or other but hope you clear yours up quickly.

user80078
Reply : Sun 7th Oct 2012 13:01

John is quite correct in his description of an iron shot requiring a divot. With the wet summer we have had you have been lucky not to have been striking bone hard ground to cause even more pain. May I suggest Steven that you invest in a few lessons with a pro who will soon sort out the problem. Without this help you might sadly decide this wonderful game is not for you and that would be a pity. Good luck.

user482978
Reply : Sun 7th Oct 2012 13:25