Top Links:

Get A Golf Handicap

UK Golf Guide

Golfshake Top 100s

Find Golf Travel Deals

Golf Competitions


Community Forum


Tee Times | Search | Reviews


Gear | Tour | Industry Insider


Video Library | Tuition Sections


Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Golf rules feature 'Causing Your Ball to Move'

Posted by: user8 [FORUM MODERATOR] | Tue 28th Aug 2012 20:37 | Last Reply

In most circumstances, when a golfer causes their ball in play to move, whether accidentally or purposely, in either stroke play or match play, there is a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2 and the ball has to be replaced. read more ....


re: Golf rules feature 'Causing Your Ball to Move'
Reply : Wed 29th Aug 2012 08:12

Here's an interesting rule. If you address your ball on the tee and touch it causing it to fall off the tee there is no penalty. If you then take a swing and miss the ball (air shot) that is one stroke. If you again address the ball and accidentaly knock it off the tee again that is one stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced. The reason is that a ball on the tee is not in play until played. But after an air shot the ball is in play .

The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top