Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

How to practice short game

Posted by: user462395 | Thu 26th Apr 2012 19:48 | Last Reply

Hi all - I'm a newbie to the game and have been on the driving range a few times.  But I've read countless times that the most important part of the game is the short stuff. 

I know there are pay and play courses nearby which have areas to practice your short game, but are you allowed to simply stroll in and use them?  After all, you have to pay to play on the course, or to get a bucket of balls for the driving range.  But it seems it would be hugely beneficial to simply spend an hour on the short game.  But I've never seen any sort of price tariff to use these areas.

Is the etiquette that you should only use them if you are then paying for a round on the course?  I can't believe that there would be no charge for using these areas?

I would appreciate any feedback on this matter

thanks

Mark

re: How to practice short game
user430457
Reply : Thu 26th Apr 2012 20:39

Hi Mark,

the club I play at most , though not a member, has two short course pratice areas. One is attached to the driving range where you use range balls. The other is by the club house and comprises two putting greens plus a chipping area including bunker.

This is free to use, with your own balls.

I think the philosophy is that as a visitor using these facilities free of charge then you are more likely to come back and pay to play. The club is pretty relaxed.

On occassions i also take a wedge and a few balls up to a local park and have a chip about, not isnt strictly allowed though i consider this to be no more offensive than hanging around on swings drinking White Lightning!

user425195
Reply : Fri 27th Apr 2012 11:51