Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Complete Beginner!!!

Posted by: user458552 | Mon 9th Apr 2012 12:58 | Last Reply

Hi having never picked up a golf club or hit a ball in my life I decided to jump straight in with a beginner course of lessons at my local golf centre. I am left handed but  I am a right handed golfer, who knew!!

Despite being, ahem, not that good and probably the worst in the group of people in the lesson I just wanted to encourage anyone who is feeling a bit scared about getting into golf. My main motivation for playing is to learn more about the game, I have just bought a business selling golf equipment and also so I can see my husband at the weekends from time to time. If you cant beat em join em. I have not bought any equipment or clothing I just turn up in my jeans and they provide the clubs. Got my third lesson tonight and am definitely getting hooked.

So, you dont need loads of cash to spend if you want to try it out. My four lessons were £35 in total. I am now on the lookout for a set of second hand ladies clubs to start me off. I found myself glued to the Masters looking at golf swings as if any of that magic would rub off on me!

I think it is quite hard to take that first step particularly as a female. I have no female friends who play so I have had to do this on my own.

Anyway, now all I need is the time to actually play!!

Claire Tucker

{{LINK REMOVED}}

Last edit : Mon 9th Apr 2012 13:03
re: Complete Beginner!!!
user443588
Reply : Wed 11th Apr 2012 07:51

Hi Claire,

First of all best of luck with the lessons and getting yourself into golf. It's a very rewarding game but at the same time an extremely frustrating one too.