Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

2 Questions

Posted by: user274973 | Fri 3rd Dec 2010 01:11 | Last Reply

I'm relatively new to the game and this is my first post.  I'm still getting to grips with the number of different events the Pro's are involved in, but still need a couple of questions clearing up if anyone can help?

First of all, what is the difference between the PGA Tour and European Tour?  I mean, is the PGA Tour a better tour to be on?  And does that mean the better golfers play on the PGA tour?  And how is it decided who plays on what tour?

Also, whoever wins the FedEx cup gets a 5 year exemption on the PGA Tour?  What exactly does that mean?

I've tried numerous websites to find out the answers to the above, but so far have been unsuccessful, so if anyone can clear these things up it would be appreciated.  Thank you

re: 2 Questions
user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Fri 3rd Dec 2010 08:29

I'll try to answer your questions as best as a I can.

Two Tours

There are two main tours in the world.  The European Tour and the PGA.  All this means is that one tour is in Europe and the other is in America.  They have expanded a bit so each tour could technically be played in any country in the world!

I don't think one tour is better than the other, but it appears there is more money to be won on the PGA tour which is why so many players prefer to play there. 

Not sure on how you qualify for each tour, but I think you have to be in the top so many players in the world to be able to play.  You can be invited to play on the PGA tour.  And then there is the qualifying school.

FedEx Cup

If you win the FedEx Cup then you get a five year excemption.  All this means is that you are on the PGA tour for the next five years.  You don't have to qualify, win anything, etc.