Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Awful score ... at least we were quick!

Posted by: user320447 | Mon 22nd Nov 2010 10:06 | Last Reply

Had a round of golf at Hollins Hall in Shipley on Saturday (Free bacon and egg rolls at the halfway house! Awesome!).

I'm still learning the game and very slowly improving, but really enjoy it none the less.

First hole - great drive, good lay-up, 2 putts - par! Thought "Today is my day!".

How wrong could I be! Ended up going round in 131! cryinghttp://www.golfshake.com/scripts/ckeditor/plugins/smiley/images/cry_smile.gif" title="crying" width="20" />

My playing partner didn't have a great game either. The strange thing was, we both seemed to be driving well and hardly spent any time in the rough. Only lost a couple of balls to water (honest guv!). Our round was sub 4 hours which is something I've never managed! God knows where the majority of our shots came from!

I keep checking how many fingers I've got on each hand to see if I can blame it on some sort of miscalculation!

Regardless of this we had a really good day and a great laugh, which is all that matters to me (I know others will argue against me! laughhttp://www.golfshake.com/scripts/ckeditor/plugins/smiley/images/teeth_smile.gif" title="laugh" width="20" /> 

re: Awful score ... at least we were quick!
user8 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 22nd Nov 2010 10:28

Well done John.  In your defence Hollins Hall can be a tough track if you don't keep it on the short cut stuff! especially with the hills/walk etc

But I bet after all that you remembered all the good shots and are itching to get back out again!

user320447
Reply : Mon 22nd Nov 2010 10:37

Ha ha, hell yeah!

I think I just need to take a deep breath when I duff the ball or mess up and concentrate on the next shot.