Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

What Type Of Clubs For Me?

Posted by: user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR] | Wed 18th Feb 2009 23:37 | Last Reply

I've seen that golf clubs come in three brackets, Beginner, Game Improvement and Pro.

I was just wondering what people would suggest is the correct time to move to the next bracket of clubs.

As a complete beginner you would buy a beginner set, but at what point/handicap would you say it's time to trade them in and get some game improvements clubs, and then eventuallly some blades?

I understand that every person is going to be different, but what would be a standard guide.

I'm not after new clubs at the moment so it's only out of interest that I'm asking.

Russ

re: What Type Of Clubs For Me?
user129155
Reply : Thu 19th Feb 2009 09:15

Some people say I'm Crazy but I skipped from beginner clubs to better player Irons in one go last week.

Got some Mizuno MP60's for a great deal and I am hitting them great - absolutely love them.

user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Thu 19th Feb 2009 10:24

If you're happy with the clubs you have, they are correctly fitted and they don't stop you doing what you want to do eg shaping shots, why bother changing?  When you do, get fitted for shafts, grips, etc then buy the combination of shaft and head that you feel the most comfortable with.  Ignore brand, what your mate has, pushy salesmen, etc and get the ones that you like the best and are within your budget. 

user52922
Reply : Thu 19th Feb 2009 14:56

Just come back from the range with my wife, although she would not hit one ball, but I hit all my irons straight down the middle, even hit two beauties with her 8 iron which again proves that if you swing it right then the club is pretty irrrelevant.