Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

steel v graphite irons help please

Posted by: user48641 | Mon 10th Mar 2008 20:58 | Last Reply

Hi all

Can I just ask your thoughts about steel shaft irons.  Since starting golf 3 years ago I bought a set of Nicklaus Graphite irons and have been using them since.  The 3 and 4 iron are hybrid clubs.  At the time of purchasing them from american golf I was advised that graphite shafts would be the best for me because I did not have a quick swing speed and I was a beginner.  Anyway over the past few weeks from time to time I've tried my friends clubs out for a few shots (steel shafts) and the ball seems to go much further compared to my clubs.  This has now got me thinking perhaps its time to change to steel shafted irons.  I've read quite alot of reviews in the magazines, net, etc, but I'm finding it hard to decide which sort to (perhaps) go for.  I'd welcome your comments about the types of irons you think might be worthwhile and your thoughts on steel shafted irons as whole and if any of you have also found that they go further and are better in anyway than graphite irons.

Thanks in advance - apologies if theres another similar post - tried posting earlier but dont think it worked properly.

re: steel v graphite irons help please
user24437
Reply : Mon 10th Mar 2008 21:20