Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Muscle back struggle

Posted by: user84878 | Thu 6th Mar 2008 22:52 | Last Reply

I replaced my trusty old Wilson fat shafts a couple of months ago and have replaced them with a set of Mizuno MP60 muscle backs.  The strongest part of my game always was my irons, I consistantly hit them well but now struggle.  I feel like I have lost faith in my swing because the club head looks so small when looing down on it at address. 

Probably a daft question, but has anybody else noticed this problem as well and if so, did you get past it?  and how?

re: Muscle back struggle
user80414
Reply : Fri 7th Mar 2008 09:58

This is my concern as well.

Ive been playing for over 10 years now (the last 2 years ive taken it seriously where as before its was a few times a year effort) , and have never had lessons, this ofcourse was a mistake at the time but im now happy with my swing and my mid to short iron play is by far the strongest part of my game.

I recently have been given lessons as a gift, but im concerned that over the course of the lessons that my golf will suffer and my swing/game will change for the worse (as i have heard this from many players) . However im aware that by taking lessons will in the long run get rid of all the "faults" in my game, but as im just a leasure player (and i have no illusions of being a scratch player) i dont want this to spoil my enjoyment  of this great game. 

Has anyone else been in the situation?

user52922
Reply : Fri 7th Mar 2008 10:35

Danny, there is nothing more satisfying than hitting a golf ball exactly the way you intended to play it. This only happens maybe three/flur times a round, but it is this that keeps us coming back for more.