Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Let the handicap start tumbling!!

Posted by: user83900 | Fri 29th Feb 2008 13:12 | Last Reply

Greetings fellow forum goers,

Just a quick first post to get me underway.  Just joined the site and it looks really impressive.  I've been playing for a few years now but only VERY occasionally so now I'm looking to play a lot more and actually get a handicap (cards will be posted on this site obviously) and hopefully get it tumbling in the right direction!

I'm joining a local club where my friend is the pro so hopefully a few tips from him and some more regular practice/play should guide me well.  It's only a 9 hole course but is very tidy and a good challenge.  It's really my short game that could do with the most improvement so should serve me well.

I will try and post a video of my swing at some stage for some of your "wise" comments & tips (I'm also good at taking and giving banter so will not get easily offended!!)

In the meantime take it easy, it's Friday which hopefully means some golfing action over the next few days for most of us!!

Cheers, Jim

re: Let the handicap start tumbling!!
user52922
Reply : Fri 29th Feb 2008 14:18

Welcome, Jim, hope you enjoy yourself back playing this wonderul game more frequently.

user83900
Reply : Fri 29th Feb 2008 14:31

Thanks John, good of you to reply.  Funnily enough I had earlier been chuckling at some other posts from yourself - and I promise not to take offence if you call ME a "bandit" at any stage.  Hopefully just some steady progress with maybe the odd sizzling shot or round thrown in to keep the interest going and to compensate for the inevitible duffs and lost balls along the way!!

My first goal is just to start hitting the ball cleanly more consistently and iron out those annoying duffs from 50 yards inwards.  Practice... practice... practice!