Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

I a beginner be gentle with me!

Posted by: user83096 | Thu 21st Feb 2008 12:17 | Last Reply

Hi i'm new to this and to golf. Had my 1st ever round on my local public course in edinburgh last weekend and hit 115. just as likely to skim the grass with a drive as hit 175 yards. Think I managed to irritate a couple of "good" golfers. but hey we gotta start somewhere

re: I a beginner be gentle with me!
user48641
Reply : Thu 21st Feb 2008 14:35

Hi and welcome Alan,

Dont worry about the other golfers mate (for now anyway...lol) for a first timer thats a good score (my first ever score 3 years ago was 132 - i dont think many can beat that!!)

Now u do realise your gonna end up completely crazy about this great game dont you !!

user52922
Reply : Thu 21st Feb 2008 17:30

Welcome to the world of golf, Alan, if you are serious about improving rapidly then the only answer is lessons now, whilst you are still at the stage where you have not grooved any bad swing faults. It will be money well spent, I assure you.

user48641
Reply : Fri 22nd Feb 2008 17:28

alan - dont worry about things too much mate - best thing is just get out there and enjoy it, something else to take into account though if you play at a particular course are the times the course isnt so busy (eg sometimes pays dividends to play just 9 holes on a late pm, if no ones around you can take a lil extra time practising etc)

user24437
Reply : Fri 22nd Feb 2008 18:30

Alan