Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

new to golf and can't wait to get on a proper course

Posted by: user474179 | Wed 20th Jun 2012 23:45 | Last Reply

Hi, i am a beginner and i'm wanting some friendly advice please. im really enjoying my group lessons and i go on the driving range at every opportunity as I'm loving it so much and im itching to get a a proper course (nine hole course) but was wondering when is the right time to take the plunge? I don't want to embarrass myself as i dont hit very far yet usually 50-80 yrds with my 5 iron (don't laugh) x

re: new to golf and can't wait to get on a proper course
user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Thu 21st Jun 2012 01:03

Just pick the right time and go out on the course when it's not busy.

I'd say give a weekend morning a miss, but you can get out late afternoon on a weekend and not see anybody else on the course.

Russ

user355541
Reply : Thu 21st Jun 2012 07:33

I can steer you in the direction of a 9-hole course in Notts whose Ladies section would be very welcoming and you would find quite a number who would be delighted to hit a 5-iron 50 yards. I can PM you with more info if you are interested.

Last edit : Thu 21st Jun 2012 07:35
user451727
Reply : Thu 21st Jun 2012 07:35

Hi Samantha, I agree with Russell here. I believe it would be a good idea to ring the course you are planning to play and ask them when it is the most quiet. A Wednesday after 1.30pm and after 3 on a Saturday is normally really quiet on my local course. Good luck and enjoy. Colin.

user451055
Reply : Thu 21st Jun 2012 07:48

As per other responses - find a quiet time and also read up on etiquette in case you do come across anyone.

Get on the course though. the fastest way to improve is to increase your confidence and this will come by playing on a course.