Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Looking for a decent golf club in SW London for a beginner

Posted by: user307937 | Thu 3rd Jun 2010 12:52 | Last Reply

Hi guys.

I'm just starting out in the game, been playing on and off for a couple of years and a bit more regularly recently.  Very much a beginner, I can hit the ball a long way but am woefully inconsistent and have a crap shortgame, shooting around 100-105 at the moment.

I'm looking for a club to join in or around SW london that is not too daunting for a golfer of my lowly standard and isn't too expensive.  Any recommendations?

(By not too expensive I looking for under £90 a month and no joining fee)

Courses I have played in the area:

• Traditions, Surrey
  • Surrey National
  • Richmond Park - Princes
  • Richmond Park - Dukes

Favourite of these is Traditions.

Thanks,

Stuart.

re: Looking for a decent golf club in SW London for a beginner
user93410
Reply : Thu 3rd Jun 2010 16:41

Stuart - Depends where you live.  I joined Wimbledon Common at the end of last year and am very glad I did.  The course is an acquired taste but I like it.  Is costing me just £540 for 5 day membership (or about £5 a round!).  The course is relatively short at 5450 yards but is interesting and a good test.  There are three par 3's at over 225 yards...  You need to keep the ball relatively straight and have a good short game to score well.  Downside is that the course is played over common land and the public/ dog walkers have right of way.  However, that's not usually a problem once you have got used to it.  The greens are kept in exceptional condition and it's a friendly club.

If you live closer to Traditions then I can see the benefit of that with associated access to Pyrford, Hampton Court and other Crown courses.

Perhaps also consider Silvermere.