Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Recommended Driver for 28 Handicapper

Posted by: user238448 | Fri 19th Jun 2009 15:51 | Last Reply

This is my first posting and I could do with some advice.

I have a handicap of 28 and at the moment I tee off with a 5 or 4 hybrid club.

I need more distance off the tee, can anyone recommend a driver that would give me the forgiveness and distance I will need?

I was thinking of looking at the Taylormade Burner.

Any advice would be appreaciated

Many thanks

Gary

re: Recommended Driver for 28 Handicapper
user41897
Reply : Fri 19th Jun 2009 17:39

I'm no expert and have struggled with my old Slazenger driver for years.  Treated myself to a sparkly new Mizuno MX700 last week and I just love it.  It could be the honeymoon period and it'll all go to pot in a few rounds time but at the moment it is just great.

user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Fri 19th Jun 2009 18:39

Welcome to the site Gary and congratulations on making your first post.

Now for the driver!  Try as many as you can and don't worry about the make or price.

Find one you like, whichever one that may be and then buy it.

Try and get it custom fitted, then you will know it's the right driver for you.

Russ

user8 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Fri 19th Jun 2009 22:46

I would recommend a 3 iron   especially after my round at Donnington Grove today

Seriously, do as suggested and go and try some out.  On a range and not using an indoor simulator though

user238448
Reply : Sat 20th Jun 2009 15:06

To everyone that took time to reply to my posting.

Thank you very much for the valuable advice.

I am sure it will help me choose the right driver for my abilty and swing.

I will let you know how I get on.

Many thanks.

Regards

GaRY

user238448
Reply : Sun 21st Jun 2009 06:00

Hi Paul

I know what you mean.