Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

My life as a Circuit Pro.

Posted by: user202037 [FORUM MODERATOR] | Sat 23rd May 2009 21:40 | Last Reply

PART ONE

What is a Circuit Pro as against a Tour Pro?

A Tour Pro plays on one level following a Tour, either the PGA Tour or the European Tour. A Circuit Pro plays wherever he can, sometimes in a small Regional Event and sometimes in an Open Championship.

During the 1972 Jubilee Celebrations Week at Roundhay GC I worked as a Caddie. First we saw Neil COLES, Peter ALLISS (then Pro at Moor Allerton GC, a few miles away), Maurice BEMBRIDGE, Brian HUGGETT, Tommy HORTON, Hedley MUSCROFT, David SNELL, Alex CAYGILL, and Angel GALLARDO take part in an 18 hole game. Maurice Bembridge shot 62 to win and who caddied for him? ME. I then took the Bag of EDDIE BULLOCK the Assistant at Roundhay for The Leeds & District Assistants Championship during the week and finished carrying Hedleys Bag again in the Pro-Am finale. I was asked if I would like to work in the shop and of course I said yes, so Hedley Muscroft became my boss.

My life as a Golf Professional started in March 1973 when I turned Professional. I had a handicap of 7 but that didn’t matter in those days. When I signed my Professional Forms, I also signed two "Contracts". You did in those days, every Club Pro got free equipment and was then expected to sell the full range plus all his assistants got free equipment too.