Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Custom fit clubs

Posted by: user632363 | Thu 7th May 2015 21:35 | Last Reply

Hi , I started playing golf about two years ago , I was playing every now and then but I am trying to play at least once a week now some weeks twice. I have been playing different courses around where I ilve and I have noticed a slight improvement in my game. I was averaging 120 shits now I average around the 100 mark. I feel my game is getting better and I am enjoying it more now. A friend recommended that I get custom fitted clubs and that it will help my game massively, I was hoping someone could give me some advice on we're to go and how much I am looking on a full set , I live in Liverpool , hopefully someone can give me some advice Thanks

Last edit : Thu 7th May 2015 21:35
re: Custom fit clubs
user505763
Reply : Fri 8th May 2015 13:48

Hi Joe, Foregolf Discount in Chester is a great place for fitting. Pete

Last edit : Fri 8th May 2015 13:48
re: Custom fit clubs
user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sat 9th May 2015 20:40

If you are thinking of buying yourself some new clubs, then I would thoroughly recommend getting them fitted. Most places will do free custom fitting and it is worth it.

When I bought my first proper set of clubs I had them custom fitted. My swing meant that the toe of my club was hitting the floor first. This means the ball will go right as it will open my clubface just before impact.

I also needed to have the shaft a quarter of an inch longer than standard. This surprised me as I'm not a tall person. But each manufacturer has a different standard, so they will know what to do once you have picked the clubs you like.